One can tell much about a community and its future by examining its collective commitment to excellence in education. From Pre-K through college or university and continuing into workforce development and quality of life-enhancing noncredit education for seniors, San Juan County is serious about education.

San Juan County is rightfully proud of the strong commitment it makes through investment in the education of its children, youth and adults. It’s a globally competitive economy and San Juan County’s public-school systems and community college are focused on creating successful, job-ready citizens. After all, students of all ages are critical to the economic success, well being and future of a community.

San Juan County’s Public School Districts and Community College

San Juan County is home to four public school districts and one community college. Branches of two NM four-year universities are also located in the County.

Each of the public school districts and the community college have their own locally elected boards to represent the unique communities they serve. The public school districts are the Aztec Municipal School District, Bloomfield School District, Central Consolidated School District and the Farmington Municipal School District. Additonally there is an International Baccalaureate World School, Navajo Prepatory School, owned by the Navajo Nation and serving native and non-native students.  

San Juan College – A Fantastic Community Asset

First-time visitors to San Juan County are amazed by the enrollment numbers and beauty of the San Juan College campus in Farmington. And rightly so. The college is an educational resource that makes all of San Juan County proud – including Dr. Toni Hopper Pendergrass, the College President – herself a San Juan County native. Not surprisingly, the college and several of its key leadership team members are vital partners to and supporters of Four Corners Economic Development (4CED).

With an enrollment of approximately 10,000, San Juan College is the fifth-largest college in New Mexico. It is a regional education leader with five campuses, including the main Farmington campus, the 30th Street Education Center, 800 S. Hutton Street Complex, San Juan College East in Aztec and San Juan College West in Kirtland.

Through online and in-person options, San Juan College offers hundreds of very affordable, high-value two-year degree and certificate programs, non-credit community learning classes, workforce training or bachelor’s and master’s degrees in partnership with state universities.

There are five key intersections of business development programming between San Juan College, 4CED and the great San Juan County business community. These are: The Quality Center for Business and its business enterprise center; the Small Business Development Center (SBDC); the Center for Workforce Development; the San Juan College School of Energy; and KSJE Radio. More about all these resources are found by clicking San Juan College below.

Colleges and Universities

San Juan College Photo

San Juan College

University of New Mexico San Juan Center Photo

University of New Mexico San Juan Center

Diné College Photo

Diné College

Navajo Technical University Photo

Navajo Technical University

New Mexico Highlands University Photo

New Mexico Highlands University


School Districts and Navajo Preparatory School

Farmington Municipal School District Photo

Farmington Municipal School District

Aztec Municipal School District Photo

Aztec Municipal School District

Bloomfield Municipal School District Photo

Bloomfield Municipal School District

Central Consolidated School District Photo

Central Consolidated School District

Navajo Preparatory School Photo

Navajo Preparatory School